Opportunities

As a college student who works about 25 hours a week at 2 different jobs, spends all of her free time in the library studying, and holds positions in several organizations, it is really easy for me to feel bad for myself. This is especially true on Friday afternoons when I get out of class and go straight to my first job, go straight to the library afterward and study until 10:30pm, and hen go to bed so I can work a 12 hour shift at the hospital the next day.

It’s so so easy to feel bad for myself because “normal” people have time to hang out with friends, watch tv, spend time outside in the sun, and be “normal” college students. But, I am also often reminded that I love the things that I do.

I have the opportunity learn and prepare myself for my future in PA school. I have the opportunity to invest in the camping ministry of the United Methodist Church which impacts so many young people each year. I have the opportunity to work in an ER alongside physicians, physician assistants, nurse practitioners, and nurses by playing an active role in the treatment of patients. I have the opportunity to spend Sunday mornings teaching kiddos about the love and grace of God.  I have the opportunity to be a part of the executive board of my sorority, contributing to our organization so that it may be the best it can be.

I get to do these things.

No one told me that I had to and no one told me that I needed to. Heck, several people told me that I would regret trying to do so many things. Did I listen? Of course not. Do I regret it? Of course not. Sometimes I have to sacrifice spending time with my friends. Sometimes I get very stressed. Sometimes I hate that my excuse is that I am too busy. But, most importantly, I am always learning new things about this world, other people, and myself. I’m a little busier than the average person, but I enjoy every second of it and I am so thankful for these opportunities that God has placed before me.

Everyday,  I have to remind myself not to complain. Everyday, I have to remind myself why I do the things that I do. Everyday, I have to thank God for His provision. Instead of thinking about of all of the things that I have to do, I think of all the things I get to do. It’s not easy.  It doesn’t work everyday. But, it is always worth it.

So next time you want to complain, think about the things that you get to do and take a moment to be thankful for those things, Because not everyone has the same opportunities that you do.

Leave a Reply

