From weak to strong

“My grace is enough; it’s all you need. My strength comes into its own in your weakness.”

“Once I heard that, I was glad to let it happen. I quit focusing on the handicap and began appreciating the gift. It was a case of God’s strength moving in on my weakness. Now I take limitations in stride, and with good cheer, the limitations that cut me down to size- abuse, accidents, opposition, bad breaks. I just let Christ take over! And so the weaker I get, the stronger I become.”

2 Corinthians 12:9-10 MSGΒ 

I read this tonight and couldn’t help but think of my day. I was feeling particularly down this afternoon . So, I had a few minutes in my room and I just stopped and journaled for a second. I simply asked God for help, saying that what I was doing wasn’t working and that I needed His guidance. Then, I went to class and continued on with my day. I got to talk on the phone with my mom for a few minutes and I told her about what had been bothering me. She spoke her words of incredible wisdom, as only a momma can do, and I was comforted. After going to dinner with friends and getting started on homework, some other friends invited me to go get icecream and hang out to work on an assignment together. Naturally, I said yes and joined them. By the end of the evening, my attitude and perspective had shifted because of the presence of these people throughout my day. Jesus was able to speak confidence, love, and joy to me when I needed it most. The crummy feelings of sadness, loneliness, and inadequacy were diminished. Now, the only one who could be responsible is Jesus. By letting him take over this afternoon when I finally admitted that I couldn’t do it alone, He already knew what I needed and acted immediately. Pretty amazing, right? I continue to find that the more I empty myself of me and instead fill the void with Jesus, the stronger I become. To me, that is what the last sentence of Corinthians 12:9 means. In order to truly be strong with Christ, we must first be weak without Christ. I was weak and without Christ this morning. But now, I am strong and I know that Jesus is right here with me.

Leave a Reply

