Preparing Our Planners and Our Hearts

It’s another “lazy Sunday” in which I have gone to church, worked in the nursery, had a children’s ministry staff meeting, and read a few chapter of my biology textbook. Still to go are a formal sorority meeting, trip to the library, and even more homework. As I sit and prepare myself for the week (writing things in my planner and trying to work and read ahead for classes) I am just thinking about how many things I have going on and how I need to make sure and stay focused on my studies and responsibilities. However, there’s something missing: Jesus. Preparing my brain for the week is important, but even more important is preparing my heart. It doesn’t matter if I have every single possible thing written in my planner, from homework, to events, to meals, there will still be a curveball! So why do we spend so much time making our planners look perfect? Sure, I may be making these plans but who the heck knows what God’s plan is. The only way to truly be prepared for what is to come is to be in communication with God.Β So, instead of pouring over my planner, I plan to spend some time pouring over my Bible. Instead of spending time in front of the television relaxing, I am going to spend time in prayer.

 

“In their hearts humans plan their course, but the Lord established their steps.” Proverbs 16:9 NIV

“All this also comes from the Lord Almighty, whose plan is wonderful, whose wisdom is magnificent.” Isaiah 28:29

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

