Coffee Shop Eavesdropping

Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset
Processed with VSCOcam with m5 preset

This afternoon I had a large chunk of time to myself, so instead of sitting in my dorm room and wasting time watching Netflix, I made a trip to a coffee shop and spent several hours immersing myself the wonderful world of Zoology (please don’t miss the sarcasm). After arriving I was quite upset to realize that I had managed to forget my earbuds. You see, I tend to pay more attention to the things going on around me as opposed to what I am supposed to be focusing on. So without my music to create a little bubble for me to study in, I had to concentrate very hard on the computer screen in front of me and the development and phylogeny of flatworms. As you can imagine, there were way more interesting things going on around me.

At one point, three sweet older women walked in together and sat down for a visit over coffee. I couldn’t help but hear snippets of their conversation about their grandchildren and notice the passing around of cellphones to show one another the latest pictures of their families (with impressive technological knowledge, I might add). They laughed together, got kind of serious at one point, and then talked about the grandkids some more. Just sitting and listening to them in fellowship made me smile and wonder what it will be like to do the same (in many, many years of course). Don’t worry, I’m not saying I’m ready for that part of my life, but it encourages me to live life and chase my dreams now while I can. There’s a time for everything, and I want my time spent chatting over coffee with my fellow grandmothers to be filled with laughter, stories, and no regrets.

Leave a Reply

