Goodbye 2015

2015 had it’s moments of the good and of course, the bad. In my personal life it was an exceptionally hard year with many trials. However, it’s over!!!! We get to start over!

There is something so exciting about a new year and the possibilities that come with it. For me, I’m looking forward to a new semester with a new roommate, new job possibilities, and summer!

While we have things to look forward to, we also typically make promises to ourselves or set goals of things to accomplish in the next 365 days. I can honestly say that I have never set a new year’s resolution and stuck to it. It just hasn’t happened. So, this year I decided instead to make changes in my lifestyle that I hope to carry out for the rest of my days as opposed to just 2016. These are: to journal and do a devotion every single day, regardless of the happenings or busy-ness of my schedule. The second, to be more mindful of my body. How I use it, what I put in it, and how active I am. I don’t have a weight that I care about, I just want to treat my body in a way that will allow it to stay healthy for as long as God plans for me to be on this Earth. Lastly, I want to show as much love to all people as humanly possible. “Human” is the part that is the kicker. We humans aren’t very nice at all. So, I am relying on the grace and stregth of God to help me overcome my humanity and show love to everyone regardless of who they are.

While I do have high hopes of what 2016 will bring, I also have worries of the unknown and thoughts of how the year could turn sour. To combat these worries, God showed me this verse and it the perfect tool to help.

“Don’t fret or worry. Instead, by prayer and supplication, let your requests be made known to God. Before you know it, a sense of God’s wholeness, everything coming together for good, will come and settle you down. It’s wonderful what happens when Christ displaces worry at the center of your life.”

Phillipians 4:6-7

Happy 2016! May you seek God in all you do and may His blessings follow you.

-Madison

 

Leave a Reply

